Pergusa - ITA

Swedish racer Kristoffersson takes Italian, International Superstars titles at Pergusa

The Sicilian racetrack of Pergusa, near Enna, provided a picture-perfect frame for the final round of the International Superstars Series.

In an highly-spectacular Race Day, Swede Johan Kristoffersson clinched both the International Series and the Italian Championship titles plus the “Rookie of the Year” competition.

Kristoffersson had already clinched the Italian championship in addition to the rookie one by the end of Race 1, although he was leading by only six points in the International series' standings. The crown went up for grabs in Race 2, and the Audi Sport KMS racer succeeded after an unexpected turn of events forced his main rival Vitantonio Liuzzi to retire. The Italian, fielded aboard a works-supported Mercedes C63 AMG for CAAL Racing, settled for second at the end of an exciting season-long battle. Kristoffersson did not have it easy though, as he was involved in a crash with Nico Caldarola (Mercedes C63 Coupé) and forced to follow most part of the race from the sidelines. At that point, Liuzzi only needed a top-5 position to seal the deal but it was not done yet. While Kristoffersson seemed unhopeful, a crash with fellow Mercedes man Andrea Larini put Liuzzi out of contention, triggering a surprising finale for 2012. Kristoffersson prevailed by just four points over Liuzzi, with Thomas Biagi scoring third place in the International standings and second place in the Italian ones. He also swept the "Rookie of the Year" competition and the longed-for 100.000-euro money prize for the 2013 SUPERSTARS season.



Christian Fittipaldi looks forward to Superstars comeback at Pergusa
Brazilian driver back at Pergusa after 1991 formula 3000 run



01Giammaria Raffaele27'33.024
02Ferrara Luigi+11.213
03Iacone Simone+12.079
04Biagi Thomas+14.430
05Fittipaldi Christian+35.806
06Mugelli Max+37.970
07Cesari Mauro+38.312
08Muccio Ezio 12 laps
09Liuzzi Vitantonio10 laps
10Larini Andrea9 laps



01Kristoffersson Johan27:35.276
02Schoffler Thomas+0.514
03Biagi Thomas+5.811
04Liuzzi Vitantonio+9.313
05Zurcher Camilo +12.498
06Mugelli Max +13.169
07Berton Giovanni+13.789
08Fisichella Giancarlo+14.580
09Meloni Paolo +18.733
10Cesari Mauro +23.380



01Giammaria Raffaele
02Pigoli Massimo+0.569
03Iacone Simone
04Larini Andrea
05Biagi Thomas+1.326
06Sini Francesco+1.336
07Liuzzi Vitantonio
08Mugelli Max
09Bacci Andrea+2.909
10Muccio Romeo+3.181