Oschersleben - DEU


Swede Sundberg fastest in the rain

As expected, Peter Sundberg claimed pole position in qualifying for race 1. Sundberg timed 1:55.763 but, towards the end, Brno winner Pietro Zumerle closed in to just .144 seconds of him.

Rain made the surface slippery throughout the session and it was Tiziano Frazza's No.14 Maserati GranTurismo MC Trofeo who paid the highest price as he slammed into the tyre wall. The car was ruled out of action and the race officials interrupted things while the track was made safe.

The third best time was set by Paolo Necchi (1:57.383) after a twenty minute duel with Zumerle; Moncada is in 4th with 1:57.529 and Gaetano Ardagna 6th in 1:58.385. In fifth came Sergio Rota, who is still coming to terms with the layout at Oscherlseben.

On row four will be Emanuele Smurra and another German, Guido Naumann, who won the mini-challenge between journalists against Christian Gebhardt (11th). Ninth and tenth are Francesco La Mazza and Sven Heyrowsky, respectively.

Next come Bellin and, on the seventh row, Herpell and Ladas; next up are Pawlicek and Segler with Dieter Schaper at the back of the field.



First pole of the season for Necchi

There was no rain about but all the drivers mounted wet weather tyres in the second qualifying session. The session would decide the grid order for race 2.

Pole position this time round went to Paolo Necchi (a season's first) in a time of 1:53.163. Necchi showed that this track suits him as he also took the third fastest time in session one. The race against the clock was a gripping duel with Pietro Zumerle, who seems to be more in tune with his car after the Brno event. In the end, the driver from Verona had to be content with second after he ran into the sand and brought his session to an end.

Emanuele Smurra took third as he improved on the first twenty minute session. Behind him, Enrico Moncada made fourth his own. Row three will be occupied by La Mazza, who drove a splendid second session, and Venezuelan Ardagna. Next up are Rota and Goldstein (the overall leader alongside Sundberg).

Two debutants are on row five: Heyrowsky and Gebhardt. The other journalist, German driver Naumann, is in 12th just behind Mariano Bellin. In 13th is Herpell and then Frazza.

German driver Segler did better this time round to qualify in 15th and he was followed by two newcomers to the 2010 Trofeo Maserati: Antonio Santamaria and Athanasios Ladas.

Swiss man Pawlicek didn't do as well as in session one and finished last.

  • Pirelli
  • Sparco