Spa-Francorchamps - belgium

Driver changes for the Vitaphone crews in qualifying 3

Low temperatures and driving rain meant that the times set in the third qualifying session would not count towards the grid order. Making the most of this, the Vitaphone Racing crews practised a few in-out driver swaps.

The rain means that little relevance can be paid to the times as they did not reflect the cars' true potential. Still, Ramos/Müller/Van De Poele/Lamy's MC12 occupied second spot with a time of 2The laps run by the Modenese cars were not timed but they will be in the first three positions for Saturday's 16.00 start.
For the record, the quickest car was the Corvette Z06 with Longin/Ruffier/Soulet/Gavin behind the wheel (2:48.757).‬








PK leads drenched second qualifying

Although the rain stayed away, the track conditions remained extremely wet for the second qualifying session, with the only improvements from cars which had not gone out in the first, rain-hit, session.

The best time was set by the nr 4 PK Carsport Corvette Z07, with Kumpen at the wheel. The nr 2 Maserati was second, ahead of the nr 40 Marc VDS Racing Ford GT. The fastest car in GT2 was the nr 51 AF Corse Ferrari, ahead of the nr 77 BMS Scuderia Italia Ferrari, with the nr 50 AF Corse Ferrari third. The nr 118 Gravity Racing Mosler was fastest in G2, eighth fastest ahead of all the GT2 cars, while the nr 123 Mühlner Motorsport Porsche fastest in G3.









Maserati star in qualifying to take the top three places

Three MC12s stormed into the top spots at the end of the first qualifying session to decide the Spa 24 Hour starting grid.

Qualifying was conditioned by the heavy rain that started falling ten minutes after the green light came on to start the session in the pit lane, freezing the positions as they stood. The result reflects well on Maserati as the three MC12s competing in the Belgian classic are in the top three places; a deserved outcome thanks to a strategy designed to exploit the conditions.

In pole position is the No.2 MC12 crewed by Ramos/Müller/Van De Poele/Lamy, with a time of 2:18.030. Next up is the MC12 that sports No.33 and driven by Pier Guidi/Lemeret/Vosse/Rosenblad (2:18.591). On row two, in third spot, is the No.1 MC12 with Bartels/Bertolini/Sarrazin/Negraõ (2:19.222) behind the wheel.