2007 FIA GT Championship

2007 season: a Maserati clean sweep

The 2007 FIA GT International championship was a triumphant one for Maserati, all four titles in the GT1 class were won by drivers and teams who race in the MC12. This haul takes the number of titles secured by Maserati in the last three years to eight, and that is just in the FIA GT. Added to these is the 2006 Italian GT championship title claimed by Giannoccaro/Vilander and the victories in the 2005 and 2006 Vallelunga Six Hours.

For Maserati, the most important win was the GT1 Manufacturers’ Cup, Maserati’s second following that won in 2005. This was because it was secured by beating competition that included Corvette, Aston Martin, and Lamborghini. The Vitaphone Racing Team’s performance was also remarkable as it claimed its third straight Team title. One interesting fact to note is that the German team’s run of form coincided with it starting to race in the MC12.

After the 2006 crown won by Bertolini/Bartels, 2007 was also a vintage year for Maserati in terms of the Drivers’ championship. Thomas Biagi, from Bologna, secured the title at the very last round at Zolder with his third place. Biagi took a ‘solo’ victory as his team mate Bartels, missed a few races due to health problems. Biagi also took the Tourist Trophy alongside Mika Salo, adding his name to the roll of honour that already included Bertolini/Bartels after they claimed Maserati’s first trophy in the 2006 centenary race.

In the Citation Cup, Englishman Ben Aucott and his JMB Racing MC12 took the title. Run for the first time this year, the Cup is reserved to gentleman drivers, and it saw the British driver finish 22 points ahead of the second placed man.


01Thomas Biagi 61
02Ryan Sharp57
03Karl Wendlinger57
04Mike Hezemans55
05Jean-Denis Deletraz55
06Christian Montanari54
07Miguel Ramos54
08Andrea Bertolini51
09Andrea Piccini51
10Michael Bartels45


25/03/2007 Zhuhai No updates yet
06/05/2007 Silverstone No updates yet
20/05/2007 Bucharest No updates yet
24/06/2007 Monza No updates yet
08/07/2007 Oschersleben No updates yet
29/07/2007 Spa-Francorchamps No updates yet
08/09/2007 Adria No updates yet
23/09/2007 Brno No updates yet
30/09/2007 Nogaro No updates yet
21/10/2007 Zolder No updates yet